Why I want to be a teacher.

Standard

I have spent 14 of the last 48 hours with 13, 7-8 year olds. For some people, the idea of that makes them want to pull out their hairs one by one. But it makes me smile from ear to ear. šŸ™‚

I feel so blessed in my life to feel so certain of my calling. I’m still working out the kinks but teaching is definitely in my future. Every time I do a field experience it confirms what I already know and inspires me more to pursue my dream.

I do love children. They make my day every day that I get to spend with them. They say the most hilarious things, have the most compassionate hearts, are anxious to learn, eager to please, and are excitedly energetic about everything. And call me a sap if you want, but they always have that little gleam in their eyes. The sign of innocence and wonder. I adore it. They make it so easy to love them.

Teaching is so much more than a calling to love children because, let’s be honest, just about anyone can do that. But, as it is with life, there are always going to be those students that aren’t as easy to love. This is where even the best teachers may fail. Students fall through the cracks and get pushed aside.

I think that the calling of a teacher is to love her students. As we know, loving someone means having “a steady wish for the loved person’s ultimate good as far as it can be obtained.” (another C.S. Lewis quote) But really, loving someone is a practice that takes dedication and prayerful meditation. That is a tough thing to do when you come across someone that just really rubs you the wrong way. Or when you have a student that prevents you from getting through even half of your lesson. Or who distracts and antagonizes everyone around him so that they can’t get any work done…

Anyway, I’m so pumped to be a teacher because I believe in education and it’s ability to help students reach their full potential. I believe in the impact that one caring adult can have in a child’s life. I believe in the innocent and precious faces of my students.

I can’t wait to be a part of their learning!

Leave a Reply

