Just say it.

Standard

I’ve been debating so furiously within myself lately about saying the things that are viciously swirling about in my mind, clawing their way out.

Today the opportunity presented itself and like the wimp that I am, I didn’t take it. Why do we hesitate when we know so clearly what needs to be said?

I say ‘we’ because I know I’m not alone in this. Here is a small sample of songs that support my point:

Let It All Out- Relient K (a personal fav. right now)

Speak Now- Taylor Swift

Say Something- A Great Big World & Christina Aguilera

Say- John Mayer

Embarrassingly enough, this is not the only instance in my life in which I have done this kind of stupid thing. If it bothers me so much, eats me up inside, sets my heart into a state of turmoil… Why do I shut my mouth like a steel trap?

Because I’m scared.

Scared of being hurt. Of having animosity with someone. Of causing them discomfort. I want to protect everyone. I want to keep my heart safe.

Well guess what, like my post before emphasized (It’s Gonna Hurt Because it Matters), often the things that scare us most are the most important things to do. Doesn’t that just make you feel warm and fuzzy?

It doesn’t do much for me besides scare the absolute heck out of me.. You see, lately I’ve been doing a lot better. Healing from some collateral due to a broken heart and bad decisions. I’m emerging from my past, victorious because of Jesus. My day was dawning. But one thing was nagging- has been nagging for months and that is this: “Say it.” And I kept saying, “Not now, now is not the time.”

Well, today God said that it was now or never. He said that my joy could be greater. He said that it was time to forgive and be forgiven. And I still shied away. I still ignored the still small-but insistent-voice. And I knew as soon as I walked away that I was going to regret this one.

It happens so often in life, that we hurt the ones that we have come to love the very most. There are various reasons for this so I can’t say that the answer is the same for everyone. I think that for me, the main reason is that I get too comfortable. I take their love for granted. Unfortunately, hurting someone you love hurts you too, I daresay, possibly even more.

I’d like to start a new trend in my life where I make it a point to be thankful every day for the people that I am blessed to be surrounded by. Not to take them for granted, but to remind them that their love, friendship, and companionship are important to me. In saying this, I decided that even though it’s going to be unpleasant, I have to heed the voice. I have to say what needs to be said. I’m holding myself to this by setting the day and time when the conversation is going to take place. Until then, I’m going to pray my heart out and perfect my words so that they come out lovingly and honestly.

God does not always give us a sure-fire sign for what He wants us to do. In fact, most of the time He doesn’t. But when He does, He’s not messing around and we shouldn’t be either.

If it scares and confuses the heck out of you, I say DO IT!

What’s intimidating you? Is there a tiny voice in your head, encouraging you to do something that doesn’t quite make sense to you? What is something that you’ve gone out on a limb and done?

2 thoughts on “Just say it.

  1. Jessica

    I don’t know which of these I am replying to, but I mean to reply to the Just Say It post. Another great song about saying what you want to say is Brave by Sara Bareilles. As an introvert, I very much know how it feels to bottle my emotions, leaving no one to know or hear my thoughts except the Lord. However, this doesn’t tend to calm my emotions. I completely agree, the scary things to say may be the words that matter most, so “say what you wanna say, and let the words fall out….” Be brave and say it. It could change your life

Leave a Reply

