Bro talk.

Standard

I have a fantastic little brother. We were having a conversation tonight and he offered to write a blog post for me. Just to try his hand at it and offer his thoughts and a little wisdom of his own. I know you’ve never met this kid but let me tell ya, you don’t turn down an offer like that. So here it is, and I must say, I’m impressed.

TASK: Write a blog for my sister.

Well, I didn’t know what I was taking on when I asked “Can I write a blog post for you?” So here I am staring at a computer screen trying to think about what to write. Suddenly it comes to me as I think. What you say doesn’t matter, It’s how you handle yourself. Recently I’ve been the victim of useless ranting. At school and when I get home. It seems as if I can’t escape it. Also, It’s only about trouble with men, or should I say boys. This is a problem for a lot of girls I know, and I suffer from a similar problem (only with women of course). At a time in everyone’s life, a feeling arises that makes us feel like we need someone to be with just to show off and feel wanted. Been there, done that, and I’m only 16! My freshman year of highschool I felt like I needed a girlfriend to be worth something. I quickly came to the realization that it wasn’t so. Another person in your life can be a burden just asking to drag you down into the pits of no where. I find another person nagging me is just a distraction, and if you really feel like that’s what you want, find a good friend who talks a lot and engage in a conversation in something other than having a relationship.

A Youtuber that I’m currently big on (wranglerstar) gives great lessons and advice based on prior experiences. I looked to his videos to get a take on relationships. He says that It is not necessary to have a relationship until you can support it financially, spiritually, and mentally. I agree with the way this was phrased. Another person can be a setback to a step in your future, whether it be buying a vehicle to get to your job or buying a home to live in. Get yourself financially set for your future and then think about another person to take care of.

Now to the spiritual take on that. You need to get yourself right with God before you jump into the undertaking of a husband or wife. If you are quick to choose, how do you know you are making the choice God wants you to have? A wise man once said “Good things come to those who wait.” so by saying that, I recommend taking some time and thinking your choices through. You’ll know they’re the right one if you listen for the small still voice of God telling you your choice has been wise.

And lastly, let’s not forget, the most important; being mentally prepared for this. Having someone telilng you their problems and feelings openly is a big thing to take on. The more you’re prepared, the easier it will be for you to give open advice. Another quote from Wranglerstar I like is “chance of survival favors the prepared”. By no means am I saying relationships are by chance, but you have to be prepared for anything. And by saying anything, I mean anything at all. Honesty and openness is a huge part of testing how mentally prepared you are.

I feel like I’m going no where, so i’m going to end this here. I like feedback so tell me where I can improve and if you got anything out of this message. At least now I can say I tried!

3 thoughts on “Bro talk.

  1. One point I really appreciate about this is the idea of readiness. I’ve been thinking about that a lot lately, and talking about it I guess (and maybe that’s why it was mentioned here?) and I think it’s huge. Being spiritually ready for relationships is more important than I could have ever foreseen. In fact, I think God has been pushing my heart toward a season of waiting and relying on Him more than ever before in my life. I’m learning and growing in ways that I didn’t even know I needed to. I’ve been talking to a lot of wise mentors and reading a lot and meditating on God’s promises and really trying to use this season to ready myself for whatever comes next- even if it’s not what I’m anxiously anticipating.
    Also, I think it is important to remember that sometimes you don’t learn things in life until you’re ready to learn them. You can’t force anyone into that either. It comes with living, it’s a natural progression, and it’s okay.

Leave a Reply

