Opportunity knocks and I turn the lock.

Standard

Speaking with a very wise woman last night brought a little bit of perspective to something that I think is worth addressing: Decisions.

I personally make decisions based on the future. I don’t think I’m a statistical anomaly either. I’m pretty sure a lot of us think about the future before we make a decision that is going to affect us and our comfort level there. But this very wise woman said to me, “You think too much about the future. You’re living in the present. Think about what’s happening now. Have fun! Don’t shut the door of opportunity before you even have a chance to see what’s on the other side.”

I had to laugh because that sounds so silly. How could I live in the present without even considering how it’s going to affect the hopes and dreams of tomorrow?

But then I realized that I’m actually hurting myself. What she said is true. I’ve been so focused on the door that was shut to me that every time another one opens I run over and shut it and return to staring at the only door that I want to open to me. And that door might not ever open again. What a waste of time! It sounds so ridiculous when I think of it that way. I’m shutting down opportunity almost as quickly as it happens.

I’d like to resolve to allow myself to make profitable decisions in the present and not worry so much about what they have to do with my future but I don’t know if I’ll be able to break that streak in myself.

On the other hand, I think that I already have made decisions that have changed everything and in the moment I didn’t know how important they were. I was just living.

So I guess what I’m really resolved to do is live? Thankfully, I do have some experience with that.

Leave a Reply

