Resolutions

Standard

“At first it is natural for a baby to take its mother’s milk without knowing its mother. It is equally natural for us to see the man who helps us without seeing Christ behind him. But we must not remain babies. We must go on to recognize the real Giver. It is madness not to. Because, if we do not, we shall be relying on human beings. And that is going to let us down. The best of them will make mistakes; and all of them will die. We must be thankful to all people who have helped us, we must honor them and love them. But never, never pin your whole faith on any human being: not if he is the best and wisest in the whole world. There are lots of nice things you can do with sand but do not try building a house on it.” -C. S. Lewis

I am in the process of reading Mere Christianity by arguably one of the wisest men EVER, C. S. Lewis. I came across this quote and I thought it was great because it directly relates to what I am resolved to do in the new year, 2015:

-Be openly thankful

-Be patient

-Give love and grace as freely as they are given to me

-Trust & obey God more fully (i.e. STOP trying to do EVERYTHING on my own and according to my plans!)

At this point in my life, I believe I am experiencing a season of Wait. By that I mean, I want to do things my way and God says “Wait, trust me.” Instead of grudgingly nodding my head and crossing my arms to this response, I want to openly embrace this period. I want to patiently wait on God but I also really want to be actively waiting. I want to really push myself to be thankful for it all. The good and the not so good. Because this is a learning experience and that in itself is a gift.

I want to love and show grace in abundance because that is what has been done for me over the past year especially. God knows I have tripped and fallen and every time He has picked me up, brushed me off and shown me how to try again and do it His way (regardless of if I really wanted to or not). My friends and family and even people I barely knew have been so incredible and shown me love in the moments when I needed it more than anything else.

In 2014, I made the rookie mistake of putting my trust and hope into people pretty much entirely. My dad always said not to “put all your eggs in one basket.” Well dad, that’s an easy thing to do without even realizing you’re doing it. While reading through this book and reflecting on God’s promises for us it has become crystal clear to me that He is the only one who can really never let us down. Like the song says “my flesh may fail, but my God you never will.” I want to really fully rely on God to provide what’s best for me, show me His plans and ultimately, shape me into the picture of Christ that will fit His purposes for me.

I’m going to fail a lot in 2015. But that’s because I’ve set some pretty high standards for myself and I plan to try my hardest to reach them. These are the things that God has really placed on my heart in the last few months so listing my resolutions wasn’t hard. Keeping them is going to be MUCH more difficult. Thank God I’m not alone in that department. 🙂

Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

