Wounds.

Standard

James 1:2-4 tells us: “Consider it pure joy, my brothers, whenever you face trials of many kinds because you know that the testing of your faith develops perseverance and perseverance must finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything.”

I don’t think that James is saying that we have to jump up and down and clap our hands and shout thanks to the heavens every time something unfortunate happens to us. I think that he is encouraging us to do some soul searching. When we have hard times, it is easy to say “why? why me?” and that’s a bad attitude that I think many take. WHY NOT you? You’ve got some perseverance to build up, my friend.

As one of my previous pessimistic blog posts already informed you, life sucks sometimes. It’s not easy and there are a lot of hard things that make us want to throw our hands up in defeat.

But no matter what you’re going through, whether it’s a financial crisis, relationship meltdown, medical emergency, or even just a bad day, I want you to know that there is a purpose for your pain.

You may be wounded but guess what- one day you are going to be okay again and you’re going to be better for it. I draw your attention to the quote that I posted along with this. I love it because it is so true. How many times do we see people that have been hurt, going around sharing their testimony and saying “yea, it was unfortunate, but if I can help one person with my story, it was all worth it”? Their life and their hurt is their ministry.

We are being prepared for greatness people!

So, while I do still think that it’s a struggle to “rejoice” and find “pure joy” in the midst of a trial, it IS possible. Because God is preparing us for something greater. And knowing Him, it’s going to be pretty freaking awesome.

Hang in there. Find some joy and don’t let go of it.

Leave a Reply

