Why I’m a grenade.

Standard

So I know I’m kind of stealing this idea of being a grenade from Hazel from TFIOS but I think she has a valid point. While it may be a cynical idea, I think it has an argument going for it. We are all grenades in the lives of the people we love.

WHY? Why do we hurt the people that we love the very most? I’m sorry to say that I don’t really have much of an answer to this question.

I think that once we love someone and we know they love us back, we don’t worrygrenade_by_nighthawk101stock so much about keeping ourselves in check. We become comfortable and then BAM! Our guard is down and so is theirs and suddenly there’s shrapnel everywhere.

The interesting thing is that if someone really loves you, they can just move o
n and pretend like it didn’t even happen. Like you didn’t just blow up in their face and surprise them with the ferocity of your explosion.

I feel utterly terrible for hurting the people that I love so dearly with all of my heart and soul. But loving me comes with consequences. Loving any human is risky. We’re all human and all fall short, I know this. I also know that putting your hope and trust into a human being can only lead to disappointment. So for being human I cannot apologize. But for poorly controlling my explosions I can, and do, apologize. I try to please everyone and I fail miserably 99.9% of the time.

“I’d catch a grenade for ya, throw my hand on a blade for ya…” -Bruno Mars

But that doesn’t make sense does it? You’re the grenade Bruno.

 

Cynical post terminated.

Leave a Reply

