Predictability.

Standard

So I have been described in my life as many things. Naïve. Cute. Ridiculous. Crazy. Caring. Compassionate. Smart. Sassy. Independent…

Predictable.

For a while I had a problem with this one. I couldn’t come to terms with the fact that I’m not crazy and spontaneous. I always thought crazy and spontaneous people were fun and interesting. And who doesn’t want to be fun and interesting? I want to be the kind of person that people want to be around. I want to be desirable.

But let me tell you what, there is a case to be made for the attribute of predictability.

The word predictability is defined as: “consistent repetition of a state, course of action, behavior, or the like, making it possible to know in advance what to expect: ” (dictionary.com)

People subconsciously love predictability because it means comfort and stability. In fact, I believe we NEED predictability in our lives because it helps us feel like we have some control over what happens to us. It allows us to feel at ease. It helps us maintain our sanity.

Just think, if you’re friends with a person who is a loose cannon all the time, it’s hard to feel at ease. You’re always on the edge, wondering what they’re going to do next. Of course there is a time and place for spontaneity but let’s be honest, it gets old.

So if you’re out there and you were once insulted by the adjective “predictable” fear not. You are not alone. Revel in your predictability because everyone subconsciously loves you whether they realize it or not. It doesn’t make you lame, it makes you awesome.

Pointless post rant over.

 

One thought on “Predictability.

  1. My mom always tells me that I’m predictable and it used to offend me a little bit, but now I just embrace my reliability and dependability–like you recommend!
    (Side-note; Have you ever seen the Full House episode when Jesse tries not to be so predictable?)

Leave a Reply

